[NSA logo]

Back to Press Releases and Announcements

Executive Director's Announcement: Directors of the Year

May 17th, 1999
Greenport, NY

National SCRABBLE® Association Executive Director, John D. Williams Jr., made two important announcements on Monday morning, May 17th.

The National SCRABBLE® Association Advisory Board has selected Mady Garner of Tennessee and Bernard Gotlieb of Montréal, Québec, Canada, as the recipients of the 1999 Michael Wise NSA Director of the Year Award. This is the first time that two Directors have received the prestigious award in the same year. Full details will appear in the next issue of the SCRABBLE News

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2011 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: info@scrabble-assoc.com. 
For information about SCRABBLE® tournaments please visit our partner organization, NASPA. To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: poslfit@gmail.com