[NSA logo]

Back to WSC 1999 Photos

[Team USA logo]

Melbourne, Australia
November 3 - 7

[Team Canada logo]


Go to photo page: 1 2 3 4 5 6.

WSC 1999 Photos: Page 6

Click on the thumbnail photograph below to see the full version of the photo.

[25-001]World Champions (L to R): Mark Nyman (1993), Joel Wapnick (1999), David Boys (1995) and Joel Sherman.
[25-002]Mark Nyman and Philip Nelkon (Mattel)
[25-003]John D. Williams, Jr., Executive Director of the NSA, new World Champion Joel Wapnick of Canada.
[25-004]To be captioned.
[25-005]Joel Sherman, Jane Williams and Joel Wapnick.
[25-006]Lisa Odom and Joel Sherman at lunch on Saturday.
[25-007]Esther Byers Perrins (sister of U.K. player Russell Byers), Mark Nyman and Tabatha Nixon at lunch Saturday.
[25-008]Game board: Mark Nyman beats John Holgate (Australia) 372-360. Nyman uses all but 34 seconds of his clock, Holgate all but nine.
[25-009]David Boys won against Femi Awowade of Nigeria, 465-369.
[25-010]Game board: Mark Nyman beats Nigel Richards (NZ) 445-418, leaving 0:02 on his clock and 8:30 on Richards'. NR apparently made an odd play - anyone know anything about this? E-mail John Chew
[25-011]Game board: In Round 22, Robert Felt won against Brett Smitheram (UK) 416-394.
[25-012]Joel Wapnick wins against Andrew Fisher (UK) 425-291 to retake the tournament lead, which he will retain until the end of the match.
[25-013]Game board: David Boys won against Joel Wapnick (CA) 402-370.
[25-014]Game board: Ron Tiekert won against Mark Nyman (UK) 464-367. w #4, with a record of 16-7 +481.
[25-015]Game board: Brian Cappelletto vs. Andrew Fisher (U.K.), Round 23. Fisher wins 366-361.
[25-016]Ian Anderson and John D. Williams, Jr.
[25-017]Joel Wapnick vs. Ron Tiekert at Table 1, Round 24. Wapnick wins 475-360, with 6:31 left on his clock and 0:54 left on Tiekert's.
[25-018]Game board: Joel Wapnick vs. Ron Tiekert at Table 1, Round 24. Wapnick wins 475-360, with 6:31 left on his clock and 0:54 left on Tiekert's.
[25-019]Everyone watching the finals on closed-circuit television
[25-020]Commentating the final games: James Cherry, Joel Sherman and top-rated Australian Paul Cleary.
[25-021]In the sealed playoff room, waiting for things to begin.
[25-022]Game #1 of the best-of-five finals.
[25-023]Officials in the sealed playoff room: Glennis Hale (N.Z.), Barry Harridge (Australia), Kevin Burfitt (logged onto MarlDOoM), Liz Fagerlund.
[25-024]The new World Champion, Joel Wapnick, holding the tournament Cup.

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2011 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: info@scrabble-assoc.com. 
For information about SCRABBLE® tournaments please visit our partner organization, NASPA. To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: poslfit@gmail.com