Back to Commentary

[NSC 2000 Logo]

NSC 2000 Round 26 Commentary

A new face in the crowd! At division 2's board 1, Harriet Lakernick just defeated David Johnson, 411-408. David got down TINGLIEr and rENAMINg from the r in TINGLIEr. Harriet's better plays were SECUDINg to the g, and GRADABLE.

I glanced over division 2's board 2 player cards and noticed something interesting. Steven Saul has won his last two games by one point. Even more remarkable, the scores have been identical: 427-426! In the first game he got by Bernard Gotlieb and in the second he defeated Michael Wolfberg.

Board 1 in division 3, Ben Loiterstein defeated Rusty Peltz, 419-368. Ben has won his last four games! He points out, with the tiles already picked up so I can't see it, that Rusty had two nice consecutive bingos. First he played UNIfIES then he played SMELTING through an I above it, also creating SI, ME, and ES.

Division 1's Joe Edley is leading the pack, 20-6, by two games. He plays Sammy Okosagah next round. One longtime NSC attendee has gone out on a limb to predict a table 1, table 2, foursome of Joe Edley, Brian Cappelletto, Adam Logan, and Bob Felt. All either current or former NSC champs! We'll see.....

After hearing that prediction, I decided to investigate where Bob Felt came from! After 18 rounds, Bob was 28th in division 1. Since then, he's has gone 7-1. Today Bob's gone 5-0. Pretty remarkable stuff, since he started off today in 21st place. As of this round, Bob is in fifth place!

Division 2 has a leader by two games now, David Johnson, 21-5.

Dean Cullen has taken over the top of division 3 again with a 20-6, one-game lead over Rusty Peltz.

Rob Matthews is atop division 5, 20-6, with Norbert Saldahna right behind, 19-7.

Joseph Connelly is holding onto his one-game, division 4 lead with a 20-6 record. Michel Ecsedy, Harvey Wilson, and Rosalind Gold are all at 19-7.

New developments in division 6. While Connie Creed is still atop the division at 21-5. Second place is now held by Joan Knobelsdorf at 19-7. With the same record: Andrea Ross-Greene and Edward Bowe.

Next round, a division 3 game between NSC 1988 national champs Ben Loiterstein (he won division 3 in Chicago) and David Pearl (he won division 4 in Chicago)!

Division 1's Sammy Okosagah takes on Joe Edley at board 1.

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2011 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: 
For information about SCRABBLE® tournaments please visit our partner organization, NASPA. To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: