[event logo]

[August 17-22]

Live Coverage
Media Information
Player Registration
Information for Players
Player Roster
2000 NSC

[NSA Logo]

[Join the NSA]


Go to: Commentary Games Players Photos Profiles Standings Press Merchandise

Back to NSC 2002 Photos

NSC 2002 Photos Round 28

Congratulations to our new National Champion, Joel Sherman!

See also: video clip 1 (2 MB), video clip 2 (2 MB). (video courtesy Roger Cullman)

Go to: Before the Tournament Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4 Round 5 Round 6 Round 7 Round 8 Round 9 Round 10 Round 11 Round 12 Round 13 Round 14 Round 15 Round 16 Round 17 Round 18 Round 19 Round 20 Round 21 Round 22 Round 23 Round 24 Round 25 Round 26 Round 27 Round 28 Round 29 Round 30 Round 31 After the Tournament

Photo 28-001

John D. Williams plays George Burtch at the press table. George is Vice President of Marketing at Parker Brothers, a division of Hasbro. John says George is a strong player and John just eked out the win.

Photo 28-002

Sherrie Saint John and John Chew at the Internet Table, not to be confused with an Internet cafe!

Photo 28-003

A BLOCKBUSTER play made by Mary M Gordon (Garden Grove, CA) in her game against Rhoda Klein (Culver City, CA) in division 4.

Photo 28-004

Table 1 featuring boards 1 and 2 in division 2. Patrick Hodges (Glendale, AZ) vs. Devonna Gee (Cedar Rapids, IA) and Stephen Dennis (Atlanta, GA) vs. Doug Brockmeier (Yorba Linda, CA).

Photo 28-005

Table 1, division 4, Dave Zimmerman (Baton Rouge, LA) vs. Norbert Saldanha (Richmond BC).

Photo 28-006

Table 1, division 6, Jesse Cromer (Waxhaw, NC) vs. Dielle Saldanha (Richmond BC) and Terry Kang (Philadelphia, PA) vs. Barbara Puky (St. Lazare QC).

Photo 28-007

Table 1, division 5, Gina DuMez (Elgin, IL) vs. Scott McDougall (Williamsburg, VA) and Angelina Scroggins (Minneapolis, MN) vs. Mary Becker (Madison, WI).

Photo 28-008

Table 1, division 2, Chuck Armstrong (Saline, MI) vs. Sal Dijamco (Margate, FL) and Mark Landsberg (Laguna Woods, CA) vs. Clay Daniel (Dallas, TX).

Photo 28-009

Jakkrit Klaphajone (Thailand) and his interesting scoresheet. This angle is perhaps misleading, but he keeps the clipboard on his knee, leaning against the table. He tracks by obliterating the tiles (to the left) with a black magic marker. At the game's end, I think he wipes the tracking off and reuses the metal tracking sheet again.

Photo 28-010

Table 1 in division 1, Joel Sherman (Bronx, NY) vs. Nigel Richards (Malaysia). See this round's commentary

Photo 28-011

Joel Sherman (Bronx, NY) looks to add another great SCRABBLE® player to the Sherman triad.

Photo 28-012

Nigel Richards (Malaysia) trying to make a clean getaway after the documentary filmmakers depart.

Photo 28-013

Clay Daniel (Dallas, TX) vs. Mark Landsberg (Laguna Woods, CA) at board 2 in division 2. Sal Dijamco (Margate, FL) vs. Chuck Armstrong (Saline, MI) at board 1. Iffy Onyeonwu (Elgin, TX) looks on from the end.

Photo 28-014

Mark Landsberg (Laguna Woods, CA) vs. Clay Daniel (Dallas, TX), division 1. See this round's commentary

Photo 28-015

Brian Cappelletto (Chicago, IL) vs. Jakkrit Klaphajone (Thailand), division 1. See this round's commentary

Photo 28-016

Zev Kaufman (Toronto ON) vs. Ira Cohen (Los Angeles, CA), division 1. See this round's commentary

Photo 28-017

Robert Linn (Potomac, MD) vs. Paul Epstein (Ann Arbor, MI), division 1. See this round's commentary

Photo 28-018

Benjamin Bloom (Israel) and Robert Linn (Potomac, MD).

Photo 28-019

Mike Baron (Corrales, NM) and Marty Gabriel (Berwyn, IL) deep into a post-game analysis. I spy Roy Kamen (Covina, CA) is doing the same thing with his opponent! The games have been over for about a half-hour!

Photo 28-020

Three generations of SCRABBLE® players: Ruth Sawyer (Georgetown, TX), Sylvia Sparkman (Belgrade, MT), and Jessi Sparkman, one of our great word judges.

Photo 28-021

The NSA Advisory Board: (seated) Steve Pellinen (St Louis Park, MN), Bonnie Rudolph (div 1 & 2 leader), Siri Tillekeratne (Calgary AB), Joe Edley (Coram, NY), and Lisa Kessler (Toronto ON) (sitting in for David Boys). (standing) John D. Williams, Robert Kahn (Plantation, FL), Jerry Lerman (Foster City, CA), Wendell Smith (division 6 leader), Ann Ferguson (Mountlake Terrace, WA), Sherrie Saint John (internet reporter), Kaye Kiker (York, AL), and Diane Firstman (Brooklyn, NY).

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2002 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: info@scrabble-assoc.com 
To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: jjchew@math.utoronto.ca